Biopsy 


Just a quick update…

This morning I began another long battle of cancer fighting, by having my liver biopsy. It was a litle painful even under light sedation, but luckily I knew what to expect, having to have one about 9 months ago. I’m sore and tired now, but that’s about it. Results won’t be received for about 2 weeks.

In the meantime, my doctors are trying to obtain approval by my insurance company, to begin taking a new drug on the market (and not yet FDA approved), called nivolumab. The first attempt for approval was denied, so my team sent letters and clinical research articles to try to get them to change their minds. They should have a response by early next week, so fingers crossed. 

I’ve been having tumor fevers again, along with bone and liver pain. I’m starting to actually feel sick again, and I hate it. That being said I’m very anxious to start treatment. The side effects of the new drug appear to be pretty minimal in comparison to the treatments I’ve had in the past, so I’m definitely ready to go.

Thank you to everyone, especially the West Geauga Schools and football team. There is really something to be said about the kindness and generosity of the people in our small town. Additionally, The dinners, phone calls, cards, help with child care, and “forget all your troubles and let’s get a pedicure day”, of family and friends, 

have really helped me to take my mind off of the worst time of my life. Also thank you for your understanding of not wanting to talk some days, return phone calls, or go anywhere. Emotionally speaking, some days are just better than others. 

I’m not ready to go yet. I know it’s just not my time. So bring on the battle. I’m ready to fight. Thanks for remaining in my corner ❤️

GO WOLVERINES!!!

Ps. Happy 4 year anniversary to the most amazing, supportive, sensitive and loving man in the world. You have stood by my side always, constantly cheering me on from the sidelines. I promise to do the same for you-in this life, and after. I love you so much, Derek. I’m so lucky the you found me. ❤️

4 thoughts on “Biopsy 

  1. Hey Mary. My wife is good friends with Katie O’Brien and follows your blog and is inspired by you and your story. Glad to see you’re soo strong and getting through these tough times the best you can! I had to leave this response tonight as I watched a documentary the other night that blew me away regarding cures for cancer. I’m sure you’ve probably already seen it and know much more than I do about it…..but in case you don’t, it’s called “Killing Cancer” by Vice production. They fight cancer in various ways such as with the HIV Virus, measles virus, etc. Very interesting. They’ve been able to genetically mutate these viruses to fight only cancer cells. It’s maybe worth taking a look. I’m sorry if I’m too intrusive or am being too naïve ( it might not even pertain to your situation at all)…but the documentary was pretty amazing and I can’t help but be hopeful. I wish you the very best!!!!

    • Thank you so much for the response-that was very nice of you to think of me! I have not seen this documentary, so I’ll keep an eye out for it, but I have heard of the HIV and other virus trials. The problem for me is that I don’t qualify for a lot of trials because the type of cancer that I have now, isn’t the original type that I started out with. Additionally, I’ve had two transplants now, which could skew the results of a trial. Luckily for me, my oncologist is very interested in the most up-and-coming treatment out there, and works his ass off trying to find trials for me to qualify for! Either way, I really appreciate the info. I usually try to catch this stuff when it’s on TV, in order to better understand it. I will be sure to keep an eye out for it online too. Thank you again! 🙂

      Meb

Leave a Reply

