5K complete! 


I have lots of pics to post!! Have been playing catch-up for the past few weeks, in the wake of our fake family reunion. This is our one vacation of the year, every year, and we are already starting our countdown until next year!! It’s great now because Mack understands “Pennsylvania” and the “Fake Family” now, and keeps asking if 365 days is a “weally long time” to wait. Yes, bud, it sure is!

The potter Trot was this weekend, and I once again, really have to thank the Potter Family and their amazingly brave daughter, Erin, along with my friend Corrie who worked really hard to put the event together. The turnout was great! Lots of friends, family, and fake family (sadly, minus the Rempels and Balyeats who were there in spirit!), came out to celebrate the event, and I was honored. There were even quite a few people who I didn’t know—people who read my blog—who came, and introduced themselves to me. That was quite a shock, and so nice! I decided to try to run the 5K, which I ended up doing! Granted I had to stop a few times to dry heave, but ya know…baby steps! At least I finished! This was a huge accomplishment to me, really. I haven’t ran a race since the towpath ½ marathon, last October!! My nephew Mark actually finished 5th place overall! Oh to be 11 years old again! :/

 

In other news, Mack has been asking a lot of questions about heaven lately. When I will be going to heaven, If daddy will go with me, if he will be left alone and “all by he-self”….ugh. I’m not sure what brought this up, but it’s so hard to keep a straight positive face when he asks me stuff like this. I just always say, “hopefully not any time soon. But if it happens, you won’t be alone. I’ll always be with you, even if you can’t see me.” I’m not sure if I even believe that myself. I’d like to, but hopefully he does. In other Mack news however, he’s been super into fishing lately, and has really been loving this new school year and his new class. (Thank God the screaming/crying fits on drop-off are over)!

 

Physically, I’ve been ok. I’ve been able to gain a little weight back, and have been a lot more active (or at least trying to be). My energy level is much better than it has been, and luckily (knock on wood), I’ve been C diff free for the past few weeks. Phew! Mentally, unfortunately I’ve been starting to think about my next scan coming up at the end of October. A little over a month away. Every time I feel itchy (in large part just due to dry skin), I completely freak out inside. I try not to show it though because Derek seems to scare easily about stuff like that. It’s a lot sometimes though. Mentally I could use a break. Sometimes just working full time (which I’ve been doing) helps. Sometimes it’s overwhelming. But either way, it takes my mind off of what is to come, and that’s a good thing.

 

My hair is coming back in. It’s a weird texture. Like super soft and fluffy like a stuffed unicorn. J But I’ll take about any hair at this point, because the nights sure are cold when you’re bald! And of course like all my fucking leg hair has come back in. Like at least that could have stayed away for a while. No such luck.

 

I’m going camping this weekend with some friends, and I’m pretty excited! I haven’t been camping since high school I think. …Which has been about 20 years L Knowing me, I will probably come back with a tick filled with lyme disease or something, but what the hell. It’ll be fun for a few hours!

 

Please keep the mother of one of Mack’s close friends in your prayers, along with my girl Jackie, who just grew her eyebrows back! Get it girl!

 

Peace and Unicrons-

MEB

image image image image image image image image image

Punderson

Punderson

image

Driveway painting

Driveway painting

image

Carp!

Carp!

BFFs

BFFs

image image

My aunt and uncle who kicked my ass :/

My aunt and uncle who kicked my ass :/

My nephew mark-5th place!

My nephew mark-5th place!

My sister, also a cancer survivor, and her kids crossing the finish line!

My sister, also a cancer survivor, and her kids crossing the finish line!

Chesterland community preschool crew!

Chesterland community preschool crew!

image

Erin and I

Erin and I

image image image image

3 thoughts on “5K complete! 

  1. Well done on the race, how wonderful you were able to participate. All in all everything seems to be good and as you mentioned baby steps. I will be praying for good results for your scan. You are a strong woman Mary and I cannot imagine how tough this must all be. But you are doing good, even working full time is good. Love all your photos. Have a great time camping, go and enjoy yourself and F#$% CANCER!!!

  2. You remain to be the strongest bravest and just generally amazing person I have met. We need you on this planet to inspire others! So don’t be going anywhere. Maybe I will hitch a ride with Ozzie and his parents and come visit ….if that’s okay.
    Remember if you ever need a weekend in the Burgh I have plenty of space for all three of you.

Leave a Reply

