Summer Lovin


Blog hiatus! This is what happens every June in the wake of a million Bdays, graduation parties, baby showers, weddings, and over time at work!

I completed my first 5K run–Race for the Place–On June 1st. I met a few great people who read my blog, and saw some of my awesome nursing staff participating in the run. But best of all, I saw my bad ass girl Tamara, running the race just one day before her transplant! Now THAT is total bad-assness. I ended up finishing my 3.1 in 29 minutes, which I was super happy with! Ever since that day, I have been Forest-Gumping it up…just runnin everywhere! My next race is a 5K (the electric run) on June 20th, which I’m pretty amped up about, considering my runs have progressively become longer and faster. (I ran just about 7.2 miles on Saturday! A total record for me!! I’m well on my way to a half marathon)!!

Overall I’ve been feeling great. There are some days where I’m really weak and tired, but I still don’t know if that’s cancer, or just poor sleeping habits. Either way….June 20th is not just a big day because it marks my 2nd 5K since my transplant, but also because it is the day of my PET scan. The first scan since the transplant. The big one. The one that will show (or not show) whether this worked. (at least for now). To say I’m nervous/anxious would be a complete understatement. I want to know, but I don’t. We have never had good luck with PET scans–Dr. C always jokes about it–but I’m really praying that this time will be different. I have forced myself to focus on other things (running/working out/work/time with family…in general giving myself tons of projects to keep my mind off of my cancer), but the time is nearing where I will HAVE to think about it. The options. “There is always a Plan B”–Kris S. Do I want to have the conversation about clinical trials with my husband? How will we pay for it? Where will we go? What are the chances of it working? What will we do about work/Mack/dogs/house? ….NOPE. So for now, we won’t talk about it AT ALL, until we absolutely must. Besides, I have more important things to worry about.-Like putting the battery in Mack’s power wheel, and trying to explain to him that talking about his little boner really loud at the public library, is not proper social couth.

In light of how busy things have been, and how stressful life sometimes gets, we have all really been enjoying the summer. Oh! And I have all kinds of hairs on my head, eyebrows and lashes. Whoop! Every day I look for grays, but so far its coming in blonde and straight. STRAIGHT. I’ve never had straight hair. Don’t even know what to do with that, really! So we’ll see what happens. I would take any hair at this point! I do however have to shave my legs like once a week which is SUCH an inconvenience. I dont know how I used to do it before I got sick. Ridic.

I also wanted to thank everyone who voted for me for the Heather Moore Jewelry contest. I found out officially the other day that I won! So I’m super excited to have something really personal made. Thank you all again. Especially the Ashs’ and the Cohen’s who nominated me!

That’s about all in the land of Buell! Now I’m off for a run!

10294345_10204352329034586_1558007346863529037_n

My shirt for the race on the 1st---err....just for the record it said 1.5 years, not 15. I was wondering why people were REALLY excited for me! PS my arms are not that fat in person.

My shirt for the race on the 1st—err….just for the record it said 1.5 years, not 15. I was wondering why people were REALLY excited for me! PS my arms are not that fat in person.

Ice cream in Chargrin Falls

Ice cream in Chargrin Falls

With Michelle at the Indians game!

With Michelle at the Indians game!

Hubs <3

Hubs ❤

Top of the Ferris Wheel at the St. Francis Festival

Top of the Ferris Wheel at the St. Francis Festival

2 thoughts on “Summer Lovin

  1. You are amazing and hilarious. Many blessings to you and I hope so very much that the results are what you want to hear from your next scan.

Leave a Reply

