FF Reunion and my crappy public speaking.


Another year down! Fake Family Reunion, Memorial Day Weekend 2014 is in the books. Far too short this year it seemed, compared to most, but I think its because the kids are all at that age where they are constantly on the go. Not much down time. Either way, it was a blasty blast, and we even got “favors” this year–wine glass sippy cups. Because you know….its not appropriate to take a wine glass on a walk. You should really use something with a lid to prevent spillage. I love them all a million times over, and am more grateful now than ever before, for our amazing relationships.

As was mentioned in my last post, my mom somehow used her super power mom skills to convince me to speak at their development meeting at University Hospital. I was the Mission speaker for the meeting. So a few things…I wasn’t really sure how to prepare for this talk. I really don’t like to talk to people in person about myself or my feelings (hence why I WRITE A BLOG), because it makes me feel really uncomfortable. I mean I don’t even like opening gifts in front of people because I feel bad. When I was in high school, we had this retreat once where we had to sit in the “compliment chair”, where everyone forms a circle around you and compliments you. I remember thinking that I would have rather bathed in someone else’s barf than to be sitting there at that moment. I think that’s why I crack jokes all the time, because it strays from the seriousness of any given conversation. Well anyways….back to the subject at hand…I spoke at the development meeting.

 

My mom said she was making a slide show of a few pictures, so I was just supposed to “tell my story”. But its like so much has happened, and there have been so many feelings thrown in there…I wasn’t really sure where to even begin. The night before, I started to try to jot some ideas down on paper, but to be perfectly honest, I was watching the Bachelorette, drinking wine, and painting my nails at the same time, so I really didn’t get anything accomplished. Shocker. So the next day, I just kind of decided to wing it, and wrote down a few dates on a piece of paper, hoping that would allow me to stay on track once I started. Well, on the way there, I suddenly paniked that I wasn’t prepared, and so at every red light, I started to write down some ideas. (Which by the by, turned out to be completely unreadable by the time I got there because I was trying to write on top of a bumpy textured steering wheel).

 

My talk last about 25 minutes or so; longer than it should have, and I guess it went ok. There was a lot I wanted to talk about, but forgot. I think I got the main points out there though, and at least got my shout-outs to the amazing Seidman 3 team, especially my primary care givers there, Theresa, Rebecca G and Darlene 🙂 But not matter how hard I try, at some point when I’m public speaking, my voice always starts to crack like I’m about to cry (even if I’m not actually about to cry. …hum….which actually now that I think about it,maybe that’s a good thing, because then if people THINK that I’m about to cry, they will get choked up too, and then at that point, it won’t even matter what comes out of my mouth!). Other than yesterday, I’m pretty sure the last time I used a microphone was at a karaoke bar, and I was drunk. My sister recorded it, so if I’m feeling daring, I MAY upload a portion of it, once she loads it online. But I will only play the funny parts, like when I talked about my pubic hair in front of my mom, and a bunch of suits, because you know–I’m always teetering right there on the boarder of inappropriate. ALWAYS A LADY. Merp.

 

Race for the place is coming up on June 1st, and I’m excited. My cousin Becky and I ran this past weekend (with hills nonetheless), and went 3.6 miles in about 40 minutes. I was pretty happy with that. After that is the electric run. I’ve been collecting neon wear for the big event. I hope I glow like a PET scan!

Shout out to my girl Tamera–keep kicking ass. 🙂

Peace, love, and #idratherbeconveredinspidersthanpublicspeakagain-

Meb.

accordian time!

accordian time!

Henry (aka Hank), Lucy and Mack. Biffers.

Henry (aka Hank), Lucy and Mack. Biffers.

My little guy sure loves baseball!

My little guy sure loves baseball!

Baby Hank and Mack playing guitar with Papa/Uncle John

Baby Hank and Mack playing guitar with Papa/Uncle John

Nothing says "class" much like sippy cup wine glasses. Totes.

Nothing says “class” much like sippy cup wine glasses. Totes.

10345994_10204251309309156_56444562135177570_n

My kid REALLY loves ice cream.

My kid REALLY loves ice cream.

Me, my mom and Aunt Mary Beth

Me, my mom and Aunt Mary Beth

"Anna Shell" and Mack

“Anna Shell” and Mack

Fake Family Reunion 2014

Fake Family Reunion 2014

Becky and I

Becky and I

One thought on “FF Reunion and my crappy public speaking.

  1. You are NOT a crappy public speaker! In fact, you have a gift. You inspired a lot of people yesterday and reminded them that it isn’t always about making money and meeting goals, it’s about the people whose lives they touch. I think you should rethink your stance on ever speaking in public again. You have a calling and can really make a difference in people’s lives. Besides, you really don’t want spiders crawling all over you! I’m proud of you Mary – especially because in spite of all you’ve gone through, you still find humor and joy in your life every day.

Leave a Reply

