Let’s Do This, Bitches!


Yesterday I had my PET scan and cardio exam, to make sure I’m good to go for transplant. Although I wasn’t supposed to get the results until my appointment with my transplant oncologist on Monday, my kick-ass regular oncologist, Dr. C., called me from home with the results late last night. They were great!…well not completely great, but great for me! There was still some cancer present, but everything that lit up in the last scan was smaller, including the tumor in my chest! Whoop! So that, plus my 100% ticker exam, means I’m approved for transplant on March 6th!–which is next week already–which is making me a little nervous–whatever.

I went in to my office on Wednesday for the first time since I left abruptly at the beginning of December. I wasn’t really expecting to have a relapse obviously, so I left a bunch of shit at my desk. (Including my phone charger. I have an ipad and an iphone, so I’ve had to use ONE charger all these months!! UGGHHH. First world problem #999,999,999). Anyway, it was wonderful to see everyone in person, and if I’m being honest, to get out of the house!! Adult conversations? What are those? Shout out to Jessica C who gave me the most kick ass gift basket in prep for my upcoming transplant, complete with fairy princess wand. Because obviously, that is a necessity. Also to Colleen for the wine, and to my supervisors/managers who I will keep anonymous on my blog: But THANK YOU so much for being so supportive and understanding of my situation over the past year and a half. Not having to worry about losing my job takes such a huge weight off my shoulders.

I’ve had quite a few blog readers ask me if I can chronicle my experience from start to finish with the stem cell transplant, as they will be going through the same thing soon. So I’ve decided to do that. I’m sure I’ll have good days and bad days, and that this month long stint in the hospital is overall going to suck ass. But I guess if I can help some others gain of sense of what to expect, that’s a good thing. I will try to keep up with the blog posts, but I don’t know. I’ll probably be really busy. There are so many activities to participate in, in the hospital after all. jk. It fucking blows. (But at least I’ll be on 3rd floor with my amazeballs nursing staff whom I love!)

I have 6 days to try to spend as much time with my family and friends as I can, before I’m going to feel like complete shit for quite a few months. Trying to balance that, plus work, plus getting things ready to go to the hospital for a month has been somewhat daunting. At least I’m allowed to have visitors. (with the exception of 5 days post transplant for an incubation period). Which means, ya’ll  better show up on my birthday with some green beer in hand, because this is the second year in a row that I’ve spent it in the hospital. Stupid cancer. My transplant nurse told me now is the time to eat all my favorite foods too, because not only will I be really sick from the chemo given before the transplant, but also (luckily for me), one of the side effects of the stem cell transplant process is a strong taste of garlic in your mouth all the time. Doesn’t that sound awesome?! So 5 lbs later…I’ve been doing as instructed 🙂 They also told me that while I’m in the hospital, working out/walking around or whatever is super important, and could actually get me out of there quicker. Get me out of there quicker??!! The month of March seems like a good time to start training for a marathon, wouldn’t you say? And when they ask me what I’m training for, I’ll just be like, “For life, mother fucker!!!” (I can’t take credit for that. I saw that line on an e card on Pinterest, but it was so completely appropriate right there!!)

Dear KS-I always ask you to give me a sign. Maybe my PET scan results were it. Thanks for looking out for me.

 And so……Let’s do this, bitches.

7 thoughts on “Let’s Do This, Bitches!

  1. You are awesome. I don’t pray but I do yell and or whisper things out to the universe so will include a shout out that the cosmos embraces you and watches over you. Chin up, always.

  2. I am so happy that you are cleared for the transplant. You are an amazingly strong and positive person!!!! God bless you. My prayers are with you and I look forward to hearing about your positive results!!!!!!

  3. Your road to recovery is right around the corner!!!! We are a rooting for you! You are a fighter and an inspiration! Craig and I love you very much and we can’t wait till we can celebrate your victory! KICK CANCER IN THE VAG part 2 is ready to go!

Leave a Reply

