Quick update: merry Xmas!


I have had a lot on my plate since my surgery, but just wanted to post a quick update!

I was discharged on Friday, which was pretty shocking! After speaking to my oncologist, she decided we would start my chemo on Thursday the 26th, so I could have a little more time to recover. All I could think was CHRISTMAS AT HOME WITH MY FAMILY! Elated doesn’t quite describe how I felt/am feeling.

We hosted Christmas Eve for my husbands side, which was tons of fun. I really love them all so much, and I’ve always felt lucky that I’m so close with my in-laws. Today I’m up super early, to try to capture Mack’s face on camera when he sees his gifts. He might actually pee his pants. We will spend the rest of the day with my family šŸ™‚

Like I said, this was just a quick update, but I wanted to say the following: recently, my blog has reached more people than I ever expected. I don’t think there is any way to really express our gratitude to all of you wonderful people whom we’ve never met, but who have sent us cards, well wishes, prayers, et al. It is so touching, and please know how much we appreciate it.

I also really wanted to thank my friends who totally stocked our fridge/pantry/freezer with food, drinks and meals when I came home from the hospital, as well as my amazing friends from high school, who had a ton of gifts donated so that Mack could have an amazing christmas. I love you guys so much. I have always been grateful for our friendships, but now more than ever before šŸ™‚

Derek and I have hugged and kissed more in the past few days then we have in the 5 years we’ve been together. We are truly cherishing every moment we have together! Tonight, my whole family, including myself, will get buzz cuts. And so in begins the battle! Screw you, cancer, and merry Xmas everyone!

Ps: pros: my nephews think my scars are cool, and that I look “tough”. Also I fit into a pair of jeans from high school yesterday, now that my giant spleen is gone! šŸ™‚

20131225-065236.jpg

9 thoughts on “Quick update: merry Xmas!

  1. I delight in all your successes. My husband goes back for more radiation starting tomorrow and likely more chemo ( new cocktail) soon after. We battle on. Have yourself a jot filled and cancer free day. FUcancer

  2. I’ve been following you for some time and read your blog from the start. Just want you to know I’m wishing you and your family a Merry Christmas and hoping you’ll kick cancer’s ass to the curb for good!

  3. God Bless you Mary may or Heavenly Father send his healing touch on you and your medical staff
    God Bless you Mary and your awesome Loving Family

  4. You are truly an inspiration to all. You are so brave and strong, I admire you. May the Peace of The Lord be with you and your family.

  5. Mary,
    It’s been a very long time and you may not remember me. I read your entire blog a few weeks ago and have been closely following it since. Keri sent it to me and I’ve been keeping up with what’s going on with you thru her. I am so thrilled you were home with your adorable son and awesome husband for Christmas. They are your driving force to kick the shit out of cancer. You are so amazingly strong and such a true example of how to fight and be an inspiration. How proud you should be of the incredible person, mother and wife you are. I pray these next several months go quickly and that this chemo whips some cancer ass and that the transplant recovery goes by super fast! Your blog made me laugh and cry. Today you may be starting a long tough journey chemo, stem cell transplant and still recovering from surgery….but you my dear are a fighter and have so many people (even far away and unknown people) that are rooting, praying and hoping for you, Derek and Mack. YOU CAN DO THIS GIRL!! ā¤ļø One of my favorite quotes from Shakespeare because I’ve struggled with my spirituality of the last few years too so quotes of life seem more helpful to me sometimes than scripture…
    ALL THOUGH SHE BE BUT LITTLE, SHE IS FIERCE!
    And you are fierce girlfriend…this cancer beotch should be scared!
    Xoxo-Wendy

Leave a Reply

