The Clock is Ticking!


I am officially the worst updater. I have received a few emails asking whether or not I’m currently alive. lol…thankfully after all that money spent on chemo, I’m happy to say yes!

Since my last post, and my stamp of remission, a lot has been going on!! Derek and I went to Cinciannti to celebrate the wedding of one of my good friends, which was great. We did a little extra celebrating that weekend for sure, and I deeply apologize to all of the nice folks trying to take family pics, which my dear husband photo-bombed. Also jason, sorry my husband snuck a sandwhich into your wedding ceremony. He was “hangry”..you know like angry/hungry, so I couldn’t really stop it. You understand, I’m sure.

I also bought Derek tickets to the Steelers game for his birthday. Honestly I was expecting to be in the hospital, but I told him to take whoever he wanted, either way. He wanted to take me πŸ™‚ Let me just clairfy that I’m NOT a Steelers fan, but I’m a supportive wife, so I can fake it for a day if need be. All in all it was a good game, but for what its worth here is what I noticed about Steelers fans vs. Browns fans: Both are equally crazy. Both love to tailgate. But when it comes to losing, Browns fans just laugh, high five one another, and drink more. Steelers fans get extra mean and angry!!!…But I suppose that’s what happens when you’re USED to have a WINNING team. I have ZERO idea what thats like, really. I’ll take happy losers any day!

The day after my remission, I started planning right away for things I had purposely placed out of my mind, just in case. Thanksgiving, Mack’s 3rd birthday, Christmas, New Years…etc. I have been diving head first into the holiday season!!!! Last Thanksgiving I was really sick–I was pregnant, and felt awful in general. (which of course turned out not to be due to the baby, but the cancerous cells invading my entire body. NBD.) So I kind of missed out there. And Christams was obviously a wash, as I spent it in the hospital, and at the time, really didn’t know if I would ever be able to celebrate another Christmas again. So I feel like I’m a kid again, getting SOOOOO excited for the holidays!!!!!!

My friends set up this amazeballs dinner for me to celebrate my remission, complete with inapprorpiate balloon’s for the public eye “I kicked cancer right in the vag”, and what-not, and I TOTALLY LOVED IT. We had the best time, and it really meant so much to me that you all did that. I love you guys πŸ™‚

I signed Mack up for preschool, which makes me sad, but excited for him at the same time. He’s SUPER pumped. We start Toddler and parent class on Dec. 4th!!! He’s getting so big. 😦

Other than all that, medically here is where I’m at: I have some permament digestive issues, as well as an umbilical hernia (TMI ALERT! from not being able to poop!). If any of you have this problem let me just tell you how dibilitating it is. I’m 100% uncomfortable most of the time because of it. Obviously things could always be worse, but even with proper high fiber diet and herbal medications, its difficult. So I meet with another speciliast in December to talk about my options (which likely will be sugery). I FINALLY get to take this stupid M-EFFIN port out on December 3rd!!!!! WHOOOOOPPPPPPP!!!! I think on that day it will become REAL for me. Almost exactly one year after it was put in, I get to have it taken out, and I could not. be. more. excited. My hair is getting so curly and thick now. I’m well on my way to white girl ginger afro status. It’s going to be killer, just you wait. Additionally, I’m running in the Christmas Story House 5K on December 7th; only 4 days post surgery, which will be a huge accomplishment for me!

So all-in-all, I’m just trying to get back to normal life once again, and trying not to pay attention to the fact that the clock is ticking. Although I still have cancerous cells in my body, and am not technically “cancer-free”, I’m still in remission, as the chemo is still working in me to reduce the size of the cells altogether. (hence my still weakened immune system). I’m hopeful that by my next scan in January, there will be nothing present. But I’m still nervous. If I relapse within a year, statistics show the overall survival rate for stage IVb NLPHL is approximately a 30%. Statistics also show that this is not a cureable cancer, and one that is likely to return every few years…maybe longer as treatment progresses. It’s disheartening to know, but then again….Based on current statistics, I’d be dead right now. And I’m not. So stick THAT in your books, medical professionals!!!!

My sister is done with her treatment, and got great scan results! So far so good, so thanks for the prayers!!

My friend Ashley finished her chemo recently, is kicking ass, and taking names! Good for you, girl. Get it.

Please continue to pray for my friend Kris, who continues to be a total bad-ass, going through chemo (AGAIN) like a trooper. She’s so awesome, and needs this to end. Also please keep Marty in your prayers as he continues to go through rehab.

And that’s all I’ve got. Hopefully none of you are quite as addicted to Pinterest or Etsy around this holiday season like I am, as you’re likely getting much more accomplished than me.

celbrating Jason's wedding!

celbrating Jason’s wedding!

awesome dinner at luxe

awesome dinner at luxe

1420598_10202625479064416_1459210530_n

1454430_10202712399077362_595634436_n

 

Leave a Reply

