STILL HERE!!!


After receiving a total of 17 emails requesting that I update my blog, I realized that I’m officially the worst  blogger ever! I promise a weekly update from here on out. So for those who wanted to know, I’m still here–still alive. Whoop!!

I had a lab draw on June 26th. I didn’t hear back from my oncologist, so I’m assuming it went OK. I was afraid they were going to say that my red cells were low, and I would need another blood transfusion, which also requires at least a 24 hr hospital stay, so I’m super happy that didn’t happen. Which is good, because that means my spleen/body seems to be working OK! My next appointment is July 10th–this coming Weds. I will have my blood drawn again, to see what my WBC count is, and I will also meet with Dr. C to schedule the ever-dreaded PET scan for August.

I’m hoping for the best, but still have some weird things going on, which I’m no longer sure is normal due to getting my ass kicked from chemo, or is a sign that I still have cancer. For one thing, I’ve started working out again, which I’m super pumped about. However, I’m SOOOOOOOOO TIRED afterwards, and my body kind of feels like when you walk around all day at Cedar Point or something, or I imagine, what it would feel like after running a half marathon. (notice I didn’t say a full marathon, because I’ve witnessed people crossing the finish line of a full marathon, and sure as shit, it’s not THAT bad!).  Additionally, I notice that I get pretty short of breath when I’m working out, and sometimes have a little bit of chest pain. It feels an awful lot like what happens when you’re swimming and swallow too much water, then try to breathe in deep. Now I don’t know if all of this is simply because I’m so out of shape for being out of the work out scene for so long, but it does scare me that I still have that small tumor in my lung that no one can figure out what it is. On top of all of that, I still have some pretty sore joints and muscles on a daily basis, and continue to have night sweats. Some of which force me to change my clothes and sheets in the middle of the night. So hopefully these are still side effects from my chemo/menopause, and nothing more. Fingers crossed!!

At this point, what scares me most about the PET scan is progression. I’m at peace with a stem cell transplant/more chemo if need be, and obvie remission would be the best! But progression is a whole new ball game, and I don’t think I’m mentally, emotionally or physically prepared for what that might entail. So as promised in a few previous posts, I’ve been trying my very best not to think about it, and have simply been pretending that I don’t have cancer so that I can enjoy my summer. And I sure have been enjoying it to the fullest! It’s so great not to feel like crap every day from the poisonous chemo drugs. Keeping busy keeps my mind off of my PET.

After Relay for Life, I went to see Book of Mormon with the fakes and my hubby. It was AMAZEBALLS! For those of you who have not seen it, it’s a good idea to read the reviews first, as it can certainly be offensive if you’re not prepared. But for someone with a sense of humor like me, or for a love of all things raunchy like my husband, it was perfectly entertaining. We both LOVED it! 🙂 I also was able to go out to eat for the first time in about 8 months. We went to Bario in Tremont which has easily become my fave place to eat. I highly suggest it! I should note that I did NOT get my oncologist’s approval to do all of this, and she would likely be royally pissed if she knew I was exposing myself to lots of public places/germs, but heck. I was/am long overdue for some fun!! I’m willing to take my chances at this point! Especially if August means back to the old chemo routine! My best friend Samantha came to visit, along with her husband and kids, which was awesome. We got to spend a few hours together catching up, and watching our kids play with one another. She gave me an awesome gift (see pic below). I wear it proudly! 🙂 I got to meet up with my friend Brooke who was in town from North Carolina, and my friend Kim, for lunch, which was also great, and since my Fcousin Becky and her kids were in town for a few weeks, I was able to spend time with my Godson Henry (aka Hank the Tank), and Lucy. We took them to the Children’s Museum, and to the zoo. They had a blast, as did I! We celebrated my niece and nephews Bday, and I was able to attend my niece’s softball game, which was also fun. On the 4th of July, we had the fakes over for a little BBQ, which was relaxing and fun. We went to see fireworks that night too, which Derek and I haven’t done for years! It was Mack’s first time seeing them. I was worried he would be afraid, but he LOVED them! He kept saying “WOW! Wook at dos fiwewowks!” It was pretty cute! Then this past weekend, we were in Pittsburgh for my Fcousin Mike’s wedding. It was beautiful. We all had so much fun, but myself especially. admittedly, I drank a lot, danced a lot, sang a lot, and overall just let loose. Mack spent the weekend with Derek’s Aunt and Uncle Grida. They have a pool, a playground and lots of toys. He did NOT miss us. Derek had fun, simply because we were in Steelers nation. We could have sat on a street in Pittsburgh, and he would have had a ball. Sad but true.

So that’s what I’ve been up to this summer so far!!! In addition to that, I’m still hosting “Bachelorette Mondays”, and have been working a lot, to include some Saturdays. I’m trying my best to log as many hours, and make as much as possible, as is Derek. –Just in case the PET still shows cancer, I will be inpatient for quite some time, and we will really need the money, as I will be unable to work at all. Below is a youtube link to Mike’s wedding reception. It’s all the fake cousins singing “bohemian Rhapsody”, something we enjoy doing on the regular. Unfortunately for Mike and Jess’ wedding attendees, there was karaoke at the reception. Obviously, we had to sing this song, but without music, as we are SOOO great at singing the instrumental part as well. Please ignore all of my first pumping and weird moves in this video. I’m going to blame all the vodka sodas for those moves. It’s a little long, but clearly we should all rethink are careers at this point. Singing Queen is our bag, baby! 🙂

**Please keep my sister in your prayers, as at her recent oncology appt, they found a small lump which will be biopsied some time in the near future. Also please continue your prayers for Kris, Marty, Nick and Ashley. (PS Ashley is completely owning her chemo treatments, and has been feeling great! get it girl.)

http://youtu.be/rDunyaviGlc

Book of Mormon :)

Book of Mormon 🙂

My bestie :)

My bestie 🙂

amazing gift from sam :)

amazing gift from sam 🙂

On the train at the zoo!

On the train at the zoo!

1061949_10201622820398576_699266308_n1060515_10201625575027440_1205365606_n

Bario

Bario

1003259_10201568893410435_1120751913_n

watching Mia's game

watching Mia’s game

nice 4th just lounging around

nice 4th just lounging around

1059581_10201654524831167_1782986312_n

1059395_10201654612073348_1678718369_n

992590_10201654617353480_1009395810_n

1057524_10201654623513634_353725744_n

967528_10201654623833642_1253702756_n

watching fireworks :)

watching fireworks 🙂

Mack swimming with Dominick, not missing mommy or daddy at all

Mack swimming with Dominick, not missing mommy or daddy at all

My sister, Bret Michaels and I

My sister, Bret Michaels and I

Even though Mario is punching me in the face in this picture, still some of my fave peeps in the world.

Even though Mario is punching me in the face in this picture, still some of my fave peeps in the world.

1059157_10201659163747137_1484205710_n

It got hot in the bar, so the scarf came off, and everyone had a turn wearing it. Also this is one of the best photo bombs ever!!

It got hot in the bar, so the scarf came off, and everyone had a turn wearing it. Also this is one of the best photo bombs ever!!

1056918_10201659085785188_1213260829_n

1056915_10201657280060046_1294039041_n

1005924_10201655582377605_1552938984_n

983260_10201656068869767_411427093_n

Congrats to Mr. Rempel, and the new Mrs. Benaquista-Rempel!

Congrats to Mr. Rempel, and the new Mrs. Benaquista-Rempel!

992592_10201670692955360_1025133047_n

Gorgeous venue for the wedding

Gorgeous venue for the wedding

Leave a Reply

