Paying it forward.


I met Chris and his wife Missy in August, when I was planning a fundraising event for my friend and coworker Kris, who was diagnosed with a rare form of breast cancer. Chris and Missy are very good friends of Kris and her husband, and they extended their hands in helping me with the event. It was a LOT of work, and Derek and I quickly learned what kind, generous and fun people they were. As part of this event, I had my cousin Samantha come, who works at the American Cancer Society. She came prepared with questions on how to donate, and passed out tons of informative handouts on various types of cancer and how to prevent them. Chris and Missy met Sam, and have remained in contact with her, attending various relay events, and helping out whenever they could.

After I was diagnosed with cancer in December, Chris, an active runner, posted this:

MILES4MARY

I am participating in the Are you signed up for the 401k ? The purpose of this event is to run 401 kilometers/249.2 miles between now and 4-01. I will be running my miles for are friend Mary Ellen Buell and her family. Please consider supporting me in this event by making a donation to Mary. We have already made a pledge however, ANY amount pledged(see link below) as a result of this post will be match dollar for dollar. For is was written long ago :

Tell them to use their money to do good. They should be rich in good works and generous to those in

need, always being ready to share with others.1Timothy 6:18

Need less to say, Derek and I felt/feel extremely humbled! 250 miles and 59 days later, Chris completed what he had set out to do. Amazing!!

So thank you to Chris and Missy; although we only met you about 6 months ago, you have shown us so much kindness and have inspired us both. You are very special people. One day, we WILL Pay It Forward.

“You will find as you look back upon your life that the moments when you have truly lived are the moments when you have done things in the spirit of love.”

– Henry Drummond

“250 miles in 59 days, and all I got was this T shirt!”

Leave a Reply

